top of page

blog post no. I


I am excluded from many of the points of the article. Gay endured racism, bullying, and underrepresentation from an early age, which manifested into loneliness and the seeking of solace in a book series which she was in no way realistically connected to.

However, I did understand when Gay began speaking about the differences between the popular kids and herself, the tightrope she had to walk on from being Haitian-American; two very contrasting cultures. My mother is Hispanic, and made me ropa vieja instead of mac and cheese when I was upset. She cleaned the house to rhythm of Celia Cruz, sent me to school with a guava pastry instead of a cookie, and used Fabuloso to clean everything. The schools I went to were mostly white, and they didn’t understand when I would speak Spanish or share the Buena Vista Social Club album at show-and-tell. It made me abnormal, even though I looked just like them. From an early age, I understood that my home life was different than my classmates’. I became quiet about it for a while, trying not to mention anything about my culture or take part in other Latinx conversations because it made me different.

I got over that real quick though, because the less I allowed myself to be a part of my own culture, the more I wanted it and the more conflicted I felt. No decent thing came out of wanting to have that life that looked like a Hallmark special.

I still struggle with my Cuban side sometimes, not sure if I want to ignore it, take part when it’s convenient, or let it consume me entirely. But one of the wonderful things about being “American” is that I don’t have to choose. Media has tunnel vision, with television and books and music all focusing on that perfect American family with their privileged inconveniences, but it doesn’t mean I should have it as well. Choosing to see beyond the evasive Sweet Valley High phenomenon has made me more content with my world, and I can only hope that eventually everyone can be like Roxane Gay; laughing in the face at the very thing that seemed to dictate the way she lived her entire life, wise enough to fully understand that it’s all “garbage”.


bottom of page